Revelstoke Summer Street Festival

    254
    In this file photo, the Revelstoke Community Band plays the opening night of Revelstoke Street Festival 2015. Photo: Aaron Orlando/Revelstoke Mountaineer
    When:
    Jul 11, 2018 @ 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm
    2018-07-11T18:30:00-07:00
    2018-07-11T21:30:00-07:00
    Where:
    Revelstoke Grizzly Plaza
    102 MacKenzie Ave
    Revelstoke, BC V0E
    Canada
    Cost:
    Free
    Contact:
    Revelstoke Arts Council

    This year for Summer Street Fest there is a diverse line-up with more musicians on stage than ever including 10-piece ska bands, back-up singers, brass sections, marimbas and line dancing! Some audience favourites are back such as rising stars Sister Speak in their regular late summer spot, but there are also a ton of new bands to check out. Don’t worry though, there is plenty of local fare – don’t miss Partial to Pie playing with a full band, and our Revy-Made Music night, a selection of some of Revelstoke’s finest independent musicians.

    The Long War. Photo: contributed

    Last year the Gabriel Palatchi Trio and the OM Sound were runaway favourites with their high-octane, incredibly catchy original jazz improvisations. Audience members were heard to whisper to friends, ‘I can’t believe this is a free show,’ and we can’t quite believe we managed to get both bands back for a second year!

    We’re also very excited to present an international and diverse line up. We are proud to present Iskwe, an amazing indigenous pop diva, with local rising star Aza as opening act, and Sister Says, a unique indigenous pop duo. We are also very proud to present Les Poules à Colin, a female francophone group with a deliciously complex delicate sound.

    We also have some awesome world music offerings like Tri-continental, a trio that fuses blues, world, Celtic, Latin, folk and African rhythms into one. Our World music selection also includes Son De Madera, an incredible band from Mexico with an authentic Latin sound, and This Way North, all the way from Australia. Kumbana Marimba, our first-ever marimba band, Barefoot Caravan and Rio Samaya round out our world music offering.

    For some seriously good roots, blues and good old rock ‘n’ roll, check out Matt Blais, WIL, El Niven & The Alibi, Lindsay Beaver & the 24th St. Wailers, Baker St. Blues, Devon Coyote, Sam Spades and the Kaslo blues duo Holly Hyatt and Jon Burden. Another new addition is Amelie Patterson, whose music traverses territories from blues to folk rock and who doubles as Banff’s poet laureate!

    If you’re into taking off your shoes off and jumping around, check out Malagrupa, a high-octane brass band with a Balkan flavor, and the swinging ska bands The Staggers & Jaggs and Class Action, back by popular demand. We are also proud to present The Paperboys, a huge band with a full brass section. Another big band to check out is The Honey Tongues with a rocking sax, full band and no less than three back-up singers.

    For the folk lovers out there, we have a great selection. CBC Searchlight winners The Long War are back again; we also have the authentic Tiger Moon, some sweet harmonies from the Danny Bell Trio, a six-piece alternative folk roots group, Marble Canyon, enchanting duo Flint and Feather (our season opener on June 23), Coldwater Road, VISSIA, Zonnis Music, Frankie and the Band, plus The Wooden Horsemen are back again after an awesome show last year.

    We have a couple of acts that feature unforgettable vocals, don’t miss Bella Cat from Ottawa, whose voice rivals the late, great Amy Winehouse. On the other end of the spectrum, the deep resonate tones of prairie balladeer Scott Cook, whose his unique blend of storytelling folk and catchy tunes are reminiscent of the one and only Johnny Cash. The biggest voice award of our festival is sure to go to Derina Harvey — her band delivers high energy, old fashioned, East Coast fun. For more of this genre check out long-time favourites Nova Scotiables and Revelstoke’s own Maritime Kitchen Party.

    For some toe tapping country we have the wonderful Jackson Hollow, and for Canada Day, The Heels, an up-and-coming female country band who performed their original Canada 150 song at the Calgary Stampede last summer. In this genre Sarah Beatty combines multiple sound territories as she weaves Blues, Rock, Jazz, Soul, and Country into her Roots music. If you like to kick your heels up and line dance then don’t miss Paul Silveria on August 3 for some line-dancing fun.

    In bluegrass we have the rocking five-piece band Under The Rocks from Kelowna, alongside the Red Hot Hayseeds and sweet honeyed vocals from Sarah Jane Scouten. Local groups Chicken-Like Birds and Revelstoke’s own Tappalachian String Band are back by popular demand.

    Brother Octopus, the Conscientious Objectors and The Cut Losses offer up some indie pop, Arcade Fire-esque grooves with some quirky lyrics. In a similar vein, Vancouver’s folk-rock outfit Echo Nebraska combine their sound with melodic pop sensibilities and should be an awesome show. Jesse and the Dandelions also have an original sparkling pop-rock sound.

    For more high quality musicianship, don’t miss the Aerialists, who feature both a harp and a fiddle player, Andrew and Zachari Smith for some finger picking guitar licks, and of course Revelstoke’s own Bob Rogers Jazz Quartet. It’s going to be an amazing year! See you at Grizzly Plaza in downtown Revelstoke from 6:30–9:30 p.m. … every single night from June 23 and August 26!
    Revelstoke Summer Street Festival 2018 lineup:

    Saturday, June 23, 18 Flint and Feather
    Sunday, June 24, 18 Revelstoke Community Band
    Monday, June 25, 18 LoFi Uppercut
    Tuesday, June 26, 18 Chicken-Like Birds
    Wednesday, June 27, 18 Tri-Continental
    Thursday, June 28, 18 Coldwater Road
    Friday, June 29, 18 Lindsay Beaver & the 24th St. Wailers
    Saturday, June 30, 18 Class Action
    Sunday, July 1, 18 The Heels
    Monday, July 2, 18 Kumbana Marimba
    Tuesday, July 3, 18 RevyMade Music
    Wednesday, July 4, 18 Tequila Mockingbird Orchestra
    Thursday, July 5, 18 Jackson Hollow
    Friday, July 6, 18 Baker St. Blues
    Saturday, July 7, 18 Under The Rocks
    Sunday, July 8, 18 The Rev
    Monday, July 9, 18 Andrew and Zachari Smith
    Tuesday, July 10, 18 Sarah Beatty
    Wednesday, July 11, 18 The Honey Tongues
    Thursday, July 12, 18 Aerialists
    Friday, July 13, 18 The Staggers & Jaggs
    Saturday, July 14, 18 Mountain Sounds
    Sunday, July 15, 18 The Tappalachain String Band
    Monday, July 16, 18 Devon Coyote
    Tuesday, July 17, 18 Derina Harvey Band
    Wednesday, July 18, 18 VISSIA
    Thursday, July 19, 18 Iskwe, Opening Act: Aza
    Friday, July 20, 18 The OM Sound
    Saturday, July 21, 18 Partial to Pie
    Sunday, July 22, 18 Maritime Kitchen Party
    Monday, July 23, 18 The Wooden Horsemen
    Tuesday, July 24, 18 Malagrupa Band
    Wednesday, July 25, 18 Zonnis
    Thursday, July 26, 18 This Way North
    Friday, July 27, 18 FRANKIIE
    Saturday, July 28, 18 The Cut Losses
    Sunday, July 29, 18 El Niven and The Alibi
    Monday, July 30, 18 Scott Cook
    Tuesday, July 31, 18 Jesse and the Dandelions
    Wednesday, August 1, 18 Barefoot Caravan
    Thursday, August 2, 18 Bob Rogers Jazz Quartet
    Friday, August 3, 18 Paul Silveria
    Saturday, August 4, 18 Amelie Patterson Trio
    Sunday, August 5, 18 Red Hot Hayseeds
    Monday, August 6, 18 Sam Spades
    Tuesday, August 7, 18 Les Poules à Colin
    Wednesday, August 8, 18 Echo Nebraska
    Thursday, August 9, 18 Son de Madera
    Friday, August 10, 18 Bella Cat & Malak Sound
    Saturday, August 11, 18 Marble Canyon
    Sunday, August 12, 18 Nova Scotiables
    Monday, August 13, 18 Conscientious Objectors
    Tuesday, August 14, 18 Danny Bell Trio
    Wednesday, August 15, 18 Sarah Jane Scouten
    Thursday, August 16, 18 The Paperboys
    Friday, August 17, 18 Gabriel Palatchi Trio
    Saturday, August 18, 18 Holly Hyatt and Jon Burden
    Sunday, August 19, 18 WiL
    Monday, August 20, 18 Brother Octopus
    Tuesday, August 21, 18 The Long War & Small Town Artillery
    Wednesday, August 22, 18 Tiger Moon
    Thursday, August 23, 18 Matt Blais
    Friday, August 24, 18 Sister Speak
    Saturday, August 25, 18 Sister Says
    Sunday, August 26, 18 Rio Samaya

    Comments

    comments